910-762-2511

Archive for March, 2014

Most Threatened Historic Places Exhibit 2013-2014

Posted by

Traveling exhibit

Pictured are (l to r) Harry Tuckmayer, Library Director; George Edwards, HWF Executive Director; & Michael Murchison, HWF President.

The Most Threatened Historic Places Exhibitdebuted a year ago at the New Hanover County Library and is back again for 2013-2014. The exhibit highlights the region’s most threatened historic places, and illustrates the importance of historic preservation within our community. The exhibit will appear in the libraries of New Hanover, Pender, and Brunswick Counties. The schedule for the exhibit is as follows:

Location Date
New Hanover County Main Library Mon Aug 26 – Fri Sep 13
New Hanover County, North East Branch Mon Sep 16 – Fri Oct 4
Pender County Main Library, Burgaw Mon Oct 7 – Fri Oct 25
Pender County, Hampstead Branch Mon Oct 28 – Thu Nov 14
Brunswick County Main Library, Southport Mon Nov 18 – Fri Dec 6
Brunswick County, Oak Island Branch Mon Dec 9 – Fri Dec 27
Brunswick County, Shallotte Branch Mon Dec 30 – Fri Jan 17
Brunswick County, Leland Branch Mon Feb 3 – Fri Feb 21
UNCW Randall Library Mon Feb 24 – Fri Mar 14
New Hanover County, Myrtle Grove Branch Mon Mar 17 – Fri Apr 4

Nominate for Preservation Awards

Posted by

Each year as part of National Preservation Month, the Historic Wilmington Foundation recognizes outstanding preservation projects by presenting Preservation Awards to individuals and groups whose contributions demonstrate outstanding excellence in historic preservation, rehabilitation, restoration and compatible new infill construction. By identifying these projects, the Foundation strives to educate the community on the importance of preservation and the role historic structures play in building community identity. The Foundation is also accepting nominations for the David Brinkley Preservationist of the Year and for the Thomas H. Wright Lifetime Achievement in Preservation Award. The Preservation Awards Ceremony will be held May 22, 2014 at the New Hanover County Court House in historic downtown Wilmington. The event is supported by New Hanover County, Wilmington Downtown and the Residents of Old Wilmington.

To make a nomination click here.

Nominate for Most Threatened Historic Places

Posted by

The Historic Wilmington Foundation initiated its Most Threatened Historic Places program in 2006 to call attention to threatened historic places. The program helps the Foundation and the community spotlight irreplaceable historic architectural, cultural, and archaeological resources in Wilmington and the Lower Cape Fear region that are in imminent danger of being lost. A listing as a threatened place will generate public attention, spark debate about cultural and architectural heritage preservation, and hopefully attract new perspectives and ideas to save an endangered site in need of creative new solutions.  The 2014 list of Threatened Places will be released in May.

To nominate a site MTHP 2014 NominationForm